Aldi Talk

ALDI’s first digi­tal coun­ter: Alditalk​.de

Germany’s most important dis­cout shop ALDI made its first step in online sales with a shop for its mobi­le pho­ne pro­vi­der Alditalk​.de. The messa­ge: The online shop is well-thought-out and plan­ned and not the result of com­pe­ti­ti­ve pressure.

The Interactive Marketing Group had the uni­que chan­ce to accom­pa­ny ALDI on their jour­ney by desi­gning and plan­ning the online shop as well as over­see­ing the inter­nal rea­li­sa­ti­on and con­ti­nuous opti­mi­za­ti­on. Additional SEO and Social Media activi­ties were plan­ned to increa­se the shop’s publi­ci­ty even further.

Conceptional design and imple­men­ta­ti­on of a digi­tal busi­ness model

Developing ALDI into a domi­nant brand in the digi­tal world was the main goal of this pro­ject. To reach this goal, we deve­lo­ped an easy-to-use no-frills online shop: Choose your plan, place your order, done. It just takes three clicks to have your new free sim card deli­ve­r­ed to your doorstep.

  • Conceptual design and imple­men­ta­ti­on as well as con­ti­nuous tech­ni­cal opti­mi­za­ti­on of the online shop
  • Continuous traf­fic increa­se despi­te redu­cing adver­ti­sing costs
  • The result: A low cost per order unusu­al for the who­le industry

Organic traf­fic is key to success

We stron­gly belie­ve that search engi­ne opti­mi­za­ti­on is the way out of the grips of gate­kee­pers like Google, Facebook, Amazon & Ebay. We no lon­ger want to sup­port this auc­tion logic and opt for owned digi­tal desti­na­ti­ons to gene­ra­te reach and brand buil­ding – which essen­ti­al­ly means trust.

For that rea­son, we instal­led a SEO task­force that sup­por­ted ALDI as part of the pro­ject team on location.

  • Development of a com­pre­hen­si­ve SEO stra­te­gy and defi­ni­ti­on of a KPI set
  • Installation and fur­t­her deve­lop­ment of the IT infra­st­ruc­tu­re incl. role-based reports & dashboards
  • Supporting the shift of mar­ke­ting bud­gets from expen­si­ve one way cam­pai­gn traf­fic to sustain­ab­le SEO traffic
  • Efficient SEO sup­port for IT, pro­duct and edi­to­ri­al staff as well as agen­cy QA
  • High-end con­tent pro­duc­tion support

 

We love our numbers

The defi­ned KPIs were being moni­to­red dai­ly and repor­ted wee­kly to the manage­ment. These num­bers ser­ved as the basis for onsite opti­mi­za­ti­ons and out­per­for­med our ambi­tious goal – alt­hough we had to deal with a rocky start.

  • After a traf­fic decrea­se our adjus­ted actions for impro­ving the online shop resul­ted in increa­sing visits and a remar­kab­ly lon­ger visit duration
  • We were able to put a num­ber on the „rese­arch online, buy off­line” users by ana­ly­zing sim card activations

Social Media as a resour­ce: Valuable first-hand mar­ket insights

Social Media was both a means of com­mu­ni­ca­ti­on as well as a data pro­vi­der: We were able to increa­se the shop’s publi­ci­ty through an active com­mu­ni­ty manage­ment and blog­ger rela­ti­ons, visits from tho­se sites increa­sed continuously.

A wee­kly Social Media ana­ly­sis pro­vi­ded infor­ma­ti­on on user-rele­vant topics and how the­se peop­le talk about the brand. The con­clu­si­on: ALDI TALK is a brand users talk about in the most posi­ti­ve way, it has the most satis­fied custo­mers (which inde­pen­dent stu­dies attested, too.) The recom­men­da­ti­on rate is excep­tio­nal­ly high com­pa­red to other ser­vice providers.

  • Activating brand advo­ca­tes lead to an even bet­ter brand and pro­duct per­cep­ti­on among users
  • Improvement of the qua­li­ty of the infor­ma­ti­on avail­ab­le online by joi­ning the con­ver­sa­ti­on in rele­vant online communities
  • First-hand mar­ket rese­arch: Valuable insights for the pro­duct management

Aldi Talk

ALDIs ers­te digi­ta­le Ladentheke: Alditalk​.de

Der umsatz­stärks­te Discounter Deutschlands setzt erst­ma­lig auf einen Onlineshop für sei­ne Mobilfunkmarke Alditalk​.de. Die kla­re Botschaft dabei: Der Schritt Richtung digi­ta­len Verkauf ist wohl­über­legt und geplant und geschieht nicht auf­grund der Präsenz des Wettbewerbs.

Die IMG hat­te die ein­zig­ar­ti­ge Möglichkeit, ALDI auf die­sem Weg zu beglei­ten und den Shop sowohl kon­zep­tio­nell zu pla­nen als auch die inter­ne Umsetzung zu betreu­en und kon­ti­nu­ier­lich wei­ter­zu­ent­wi­ckeln. Mit indi­vi­du­el­len SEO- und Social-Media-Maßnahmen wur­de zusätz­lich die Bekanntheit des Shops deut­lich erhöht.

Konzeption und Umsetzung eines digi­ta­len Geschäftsmodells

Das Ziel war, ALDI auch digi­tal zu einer domi­nan­ten Marke zu ent­wi­ckeln. Dafür setz­ten wir auf Einfachheit und ent­wi­ckel­ten einen Shop ohne Schnickschnack: Gewünschten Tarif aus­wäh­len, bestel­len, fer­tig. Mit drei Klicks kommt man so ohne zusätz­li­che Kosten zu sei­ner SIM-Karte, die direkt nach Hause gelie­fert wird.

  • Konzeption und Umsetzung sowie ste­ti­ge tech­ni­sche Optimierung
  • Kontinuierliche Trafficsteigerung trotz Reduktion von Werbekosten
  • Cost per order konn­te dadurch für die Branche unge­wöhn­lich nied­ri­ge Werte gesenkt werden

Organischer Traffic als Schlüssel zum Erfolg

Wir glau­ben fest dar­an, dass die Suchmaschinenoptimierung der Ausweg aus den Fängen der Gatekeeper Google, Facebook, Amazon & Ebay ist. Wir wol­len deren Auktionslogik nicht wei­ter unter­stüt­zen und set­zen daher auf den Aufbau eige­ner digi­ta­ler Destinationen, um Reichweite und Brand Building – und damit Vertrauen – zu erzeugen.

Dafür haben wir eine SEO-Taskforce auf­ge­baut, die ALDI vor Ort unter­stützt und so unmit­tel­bar in das Projektteam ein­ge­bun­den ist.

  • Entwicklung einer über­ge­ord­ne­ten SEO-Strategie und Definition von KPIs
  • Aufbau und Weiterentwicklung der IT-Infrastruktur inkl. rol­len­ba­sier­ter Reports & Dashboards
  • Shift der Marketingbudgets von teu­ren One-Way-Kampagnen-Traffic zu nach­hal­ti­gem SEO-Traffic
  • Effizienter SEO-Support für IT, Produkt und Redaktion sowie Qualitätssicherung der Agenturen
  • Support bei der High-End Content-Produktion

 

We love our numbers

Die defi­nier­ten KPIs wur­den täg­lich über­wacht und wöchent­lich für das Management zusam­men­ge­fasst. Diese Zahlen bil­de­ten die Grundlage für Onsite-Optimierungen und führ­ten dazu, dass die ope­ra­ti­ven KPIs nach eini­gen Rückschlägen das uns selbst gesetz­te ambi­tio­nier­te Ziel doch noch über­tref­fen konnten.

  • Nach einem Traffic-Rückgang führ­ten Maßnahmen für die Weiterentwicklung des Shops zu stei­gen­den Zugriffen und einer deut­lich erhöh­ten Verweildauer
  • Anhand von ver­schie­de­nen Kennzahlen konn­ten wir den Anteil von „Research online, buy off­line” nachweisen

Rohstoff Social Media: Wertvolle Marktdaten aus ers­ter Hand

Social Media war für uns Kommunikationskanal und Datenlieferant in einem: Die Bekanntheit des Shops konn­te durch akti­ves Community Management und die Zusammenarbeit mit Bloggern gestei­gert wer­den, die Besuche von den jewei­li­gen Portalen kom­mend erhöh­te sich kontinuierlich.

Eine wöchent­li­che Social-Media-Analyse lie­fer­te zudem Informationen dar­über, wel­che Themen für die Nutzer von Interesse waren und wie sie über die Marke spre­chen. Fazit: ALDI TALK ist die am posi­tivs­ten bespro­che­ne Marke im Netz und hat die zufrie­dens­ten Kunden, die Weiterempfehlungsrate ist außer­ge­wöhn­lich hoch im Vergleich mit ande­ren Mobilfunkmarken.

  • Optimierung der Marken- und Produktwahrnehmung durch Aktivierung von Markenfans
  • Verbesserung der Informationsqualität im Netz durch trans­pa­ren­te Kommunikation in rele­van­ten Communities
  • Marktforschung aus ers­ter Hand: Generierung wert­vol­ler Insights für das Product Management